Ticket Resale Laws By State & Province - The Ticket Broker Guide
How To Become a Ticket Broker

Ticket Resale Laws By State & Province

Ticket resale laws vary across North America, but of course you’ll still see tickets listed above face value in the prohibited states as the resale laws usually don’t seem to stop too many people with online reselling.

If you don’t list your seat numbers, teams, artists or state regulators can’t track who is selling tickets for above face value, that’s why so many people get away with it. States with resale laws are also more concerned about scalpers outside the venue, and many of the laws are outdated, but you have been warned.

Here is a list of the ticket resale laws across the US and Canada:

State/Province Regulations
Arkansas, Kentucky, Wisconsin, Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario No more than face value.
Colorado Venues can restrict the resale of season tickets if the season ticket package agreement gives the season ticket holder a priority or other preference to renew their agreement.
Delaware No more than face value for tickets sold on the day of or the day before an event at the Bob Carpenter Sports/Convocation Center or a NASCAR race at Dover Downs.
Florida No sale of multi-day or multi-event tickets that have been used at least once for admission. No sale for more than $1 above the admission price for multi-day or multi-event tickets or for certain event tickets issued by a charitable organization (the back of the ticket will reference s. 817.36 FL Statutes if this prohibition applies).
Georgia Only an original purchaser who purchases tickets for personal use, a charity, or a licensed broker may sell for more than face value.
Hawaii, Indiana, Maryland No more than face value for tickets to boxing and/or sparring matches.
Louisiana Allows resale of tickets without regard to face value if authorized by the venue. No more than face value for tickets to university sporting events issued to students and Louisiana legislators.
Massachusetts No more than face value plus $2.00; however, a licensed broker may charge for certain additional expenses related to acquiring and selling the ticket.
Michigan No more than face value. Tickets that were purchased under restrictive terms and at a discount cannot be resold; ticket will state that it is nontransferable if this prohibition applies.
Mississippi No more than face value for events held on a state owned property and athletic contests at Mississippi colleges and universities; no limits on other events.
New Jersey No limits for non-brokers; however, a registered ticket broker may accept a premium of up to 50% of the price paid to acquire the ticket.
New Mexico No more than face value for college athletic events; no limits on other events.
North Carolina Allows resale of tickets without regard to face value, except for student tickets for sporting events. Venues may opt-out of allowing resale above face value for certain events – if in doubt, check the venue’s website. Sellers must also provide certain information to the state Department of Revenue.
Ohio Resale of tickets to boxing and sparring matches is prohibited.
Pennsylvania Allows resale of tickets without regard to face value, except boxing tickets, which can be resold for no more than 50 cents above face value.
Rhode Island No more than face value plus the greater of 10% of the ticket price or $3.00.
South Carolina Allows resale of tickets without regard to face value, except tickets to events held at institutes of higher education unless the school approves resale above face value.
3 Comments
  1. Why on tickets does it say “certain maximum resale premiums may apply such as PA $5 or 25% of the ticket price whichever is greater.

    Does this not apply to online sales?

    • In some cases those rules apply to sales that occur inside of the state – but there is a grayer area for tickets that are being sold across state lines in which the buyer is in one place and the seller in another.

Leave a Reply